not available


From the Moluccas, carried eastward by a storm, the Portuguese navigators Diogo da Rocha and Gomes de Sequeira reached some islands of the Archipelago in 1525.
It took about five stopovers by five different European ships before the name "Islas de Carolina" was used to refer to the stretch of islands located south of Guam. The name gained currency when in 1686, a Spaniard by the name of Francisco Lazcano named them after King Charles II of Spain or Carlos II, who funded the expedition.

Some few Western travelers subsequently visited the islands. An early visit of Spanish missionaries (1732) resulted in one of several murderous attacks on the newcomers. By 1875 Spain asserted her rights on the archipelago, claimed as early as the 17th century. The Caroline Islands were subsequently placed under the Spanish East Indies, administered from the Philippines.
Germany, which had occupied Yap, disputed the Spanish claim, and the matter went to the arbitration of Pope Leo XIII in 1885. He decided in favor of Spain based on earlier claim and discovery, and offered Germany some trading rights. The Spanish did not settle the islands until 1886, when they founded Santiago de la Ascension also known then as La Colonia (meaning "the colony"), known today known as Kolonia on the island of Pohnpei.

Then in 1899 in the German-Spanish Treaty as a consequence of the Spanish-American War of 1898, Spain sold the islands to Germany, which administered them as Karolinen, administratively associated with German New Guinea.

Japan occupied the islands in 1914 and received a League of Nations mandate over them and the Marshall Islands in 1920. After World War II, the islands (together with the Marshall Islands) became trust territories of the United States, with the Federated States of Micronesia gaining independence in 1986, followed by Palau in 1994.

The Federated States of Micronesia consisting of four states from west to east, Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae that are spread across the Western Pacific Ocean.
Together, the states comprise around 607 islands that cover a longitudinal distance of almost 2.700 km just north of the equator.

I will visit Federated States of Micronesia in april 2015.

It will be a part of the West Pacific Odessey

Please let me know when you're having questions.
i would be pleased to help you.

Things to do and other tips

not available

This illustrate's my memories of Federated States of Micronesia:

See my Things to do pages for more pictures.

When i'am visiting a country i like to be prepared;
So i know something about the Country and i can plan the things to visit.
That's why i 'm reading books;looking at travel maps etc.

See my "Things to read" pages for Books/Maps about
Federated States of Micronesia