not available


The first people of the Northern Mariana Islands navigated to the islands at some period between 4000 BC to 2000 BC from Southeast Asia. They became known as the Chamorros, and spoke an Austronesian language called Chamorro. The ancient Chamorros left a number of megalithic ruins, including Latte stone. (a pillar capped by a hemispherical stone capital (tasa) with the flat side facing up, which is used as building supports by the ancient Chamorro people.)

The first European explorer of the area was Portuguese navigator Ferdinand Magellan in 1521, and called them "Islas de los Ladrones" (Islands of Thieves).In 1565, Miguel López de Legazpi arrived in Guam and took possession of the islands in the name of the Spanish Crown. They where made part of the Spanish East Indies.
In 1668, Father Diego Luis de San Vitores renamed the islands "Las Marianas" in honor of his patroness the Spanish regent Mariana of Austria (1634–1696)

Following the Spanish–American War of 1898, Spain ceded Guam to the United States and sold the remainder of the Marianas, along with the Caroline Islands, to the German Empire under the German–Spanish Treaty of 1899. Germany administered the islands as part of the colony of German New Guinea and did little in terms of development.

Early in World War I, the Empire of Japan declared war on Germany and invaded the Northern Marianas. In 1919, the League of Nations awarded the islands to Japan, and the Japanese administered them as part of the South Pacific Mandate. During the Japanese period, sugar cane became the main industry of the islands.
On June 15, 1944, near the end of World War II, the United States military invaded the Mariana Islands, starting the Battle of Saipan, which ended on July 9.

After Japan's defeat, the islands were administered by the United States as part of the United Nations Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands; which gave responsibility for defense and foreign affairs to the United States.
The people of the Northern Mariana Islands decided in the 1970s not to seek independence, but instead to forge closer links with the United States. Negotiations for territorial status began in 1972 and a covenant to establish a commonwealth in political union with the United States was approved in a 1975 referendum.

The Northern Marina Islands consist of 14 islands. The vast majority of the population resides on Saipan, Tinian, and Rota. The other islands of the Northern Marianas are sparsely inhabited.

During my West Pacific Odessey i passed the Northern Mariana Islands in april 2015

On that trip i have seen

The Outer Islands

Please let me know when you're having questions.
i would be pleased to help you.

Things to do and other tips

not available

This illustrate's my memories of Northern Mariana Islands:

A hudge vehicles carrier from Japan

See my Things to do pages for more pictures.

When i'am visiting a country i like to be prepared;
So i know something about the Country and i can plan the things to visit.
That's why i 'm reading books;looking at travel maps etc.

See my "Things to read" pages for Books/Maps about
Northern Mariana Islands